One Foot in Front of the Other

Or something like that.

This is a random check in / status report on my foot and on my abdominal wall.

My follow up appointment with the orthopedic doctor is tomorrow, but let’s back up to yesterday.  I went to see my chiropractor (for other reasons) and he knew what was going on with my foot, so he took a look.  He moved it around, poked at it, and adjusted it with this little clickety hammer thing.  He said if was a little “out.”  When I expressed my concerns that it still didn’t feel right, he said he thought there probably wasn’t anything wrong with it but that it simply felt weird from not being used for three weeks.  He said that he suspected it would be fine as long as I didn’t run more than 3-4 miles until it felt more sturdy to me.

So I got up this morning for my run, as planned.  It’s feels great to be back out there again, but it also feels awkward to not really know how far or fast I can – or should – run.  But after three, post-Alice runs of running/walking a mile at a time, I decided to attempt two consecutive miles.  During my first mile on the track, I looked down at my watch and noticed that I was going under 9:40/mile and told myself that I could slow up a bit to make sure I could get two miles in before a walk break.  Well, my Garmin clocked me at 9:43 and 9:36 for those two miles, respectively.  So I guess that’s a decent pace for two miles after an injury.  I took a short walk break and then finished the lap running to make it three miles total.

I don’t know if it’s just from another day of my foot getting used to use or if it was from the chiropractic adjustment, but I have to say that my foot feels great today.  Maybe not perfect.  Maybe feels a little odd in the usual places, but it doesn’t feel bad at all.  Huzzah!  Depending upon 1) how it continues to feel today and tomorrow and 2) what the orthopod says, I’m going to plan to run three miles in a row on Friday.

On a somewhat related note, I have been doing my abdominal exercises consistently but not as frequently as prescribed.  I’m pretty good about remembering to do my sets in the mornings.  And I intend to do them in the afternoon and evenings, but I’m quite easily distracted.  Also, I haven’t been wearing the splint all the time like I’m supposed to.  The instructions say that you’ll have to adjust it 3-4 times throughout the day.  But I find that it wants to roll right up on me soon after I put it on, so I end up adjusting it at least twice as often.  Also, every time I slap it on, my brain starts with “I’m being swallowed by a boa constrictor….”  It’s not terribly uncomfortable, but it’s not comfortable either.  I think I may have issues because I’m so short.  Who knows.  Anyway, here’s what it looks like on me:

I have to watch what shirt I wear over it, as it makes me kind of oozy.

I have to watch what shirt I wear over it, as it makes me kind of oozy.

I decided to “be good” and wear it today because I’m encouraged by the results I’m seeing.  Even though I’m failing to get all the sets of exercises in every day, I do think it’s improved somewhat.  Now when I lay on my belly and lift my head, I can fit only TWO fingers between the muscles at my belly button.  Originally, it was a very decided three fingers.  Also, the separation feels more shallow than it did initially.  Sometimes you just need to experience even a little bit of success and you can use that to propel you forward.  The fact that it seems to be working has encouraged me to try harder to get all those sets in every day.  I’m anxious to see how much I can improve it in the next couple weeks when the plan calls for taking on some additional sets and new exercises.

Running two miles and a slightly less huge gap in my abs may not be the sexiest news ever, but it actually has me quite excited today.  It really is the little things, you know?  I can’t wait to see what happens next?  Can I run three miles Friday?  (Can I stop myself??)  Can I close this ab gap?  At least I’m putting one foot in front of the other and making progress!

Leave a Reply

