August Rundown

Well, just a few days ago, I learned that one of my friends hit the milestone of 4,001 miles run (over the last 3.5 years).  Amazing!  I wish I knew exactly my grand total like that, but I’ve only had accurate data (i.e., my Garmin) for the past 16 months.  (Plus, there’s that little thing about how I sometimes forget even to wear that).  So I can only track my miles (semi) accurately since April 24, 2012.  My grand total from 4/24/12 to 8/31/13 is 736.84 miles.

The important news out of that is I am keeping pace with the goal I set at the end of May to run an additional 450 miles this year (to total 609 miles for 2013).  Setting that goal meant that I needed to run about 15 miles a week, and with 238.82 miles and 17 (and a 1/2) weeks to go, that weekly average is 14.04, so I’m right on target.  Plus, the roughly 16 and 19 I’ll run over the next two weeks with the half, will help bring that average down a bit for the remaining weeks!

And now, updates for the month!

Half training:  I’d been dreading my half marathon training because I felt so “behind.”  But I’m having a BLAST.  I started training with my friend Julie (whom I only met last year; shown in group pic below), and we’re kind of the perfect match right now.  We’re at almost the exact same fitness level/pace.  Also, we’re both morning runners, and we have great conversations during our runs.  As the girl who would typically be running behind her running pals in the morning, running with a friend all the time, has been a delight.  And since the weather has been mild for August (at least earlier in the month), we’re improving rapidly.  Initially, we thought our goal would be to run the half at an 11-minute/mile pace (that’s a 2:24 finish time).  We thought we’d like to strive for 2:20 (10:41 pace), but it seemed a little far fetched.  But now we’re thinking that we might pull that off – at least if everything goes right on race day.  You know – we’ve had enough sleep, eaten the right foods at the right times, the weather doesn’t take a hot or humid turn for the worse.  On our weekly long runs, we’re typically adding distance and increasing our pace just a little each week.  We’re thinking: with our hard work and improvement – plus race day adrenaline ! – we might just surprise ourselves.

Shoes:  Dang, I forgot to take a picture of my old shoes before my husband put them out with the trash.  Normally, I wouldn’t trash old shoes, but there was just no way I was even wearing them for non-running activities.  IF I had a picture, I’d show you how my big toes poked holes up through the canvas of the upper.  I don’t blame the shoes for my injuries from earlier in the year, but they weren’t helping matters – they just weren’t right.  I was hoping to get another 100 miles or so on those babies, but I had to go get fitted for new wheels.  The old shoes were some Asics (GT 2000?) – stability shoes. Before that I had Brooks Ghost 3s – a neutral shoe.  I loved my Brooks, but they hammered my toes – I needed a half size up.  When I went to the Elite Runners & Walkers, they didn’t have any of that model Brooks in my size, so I tried on a bunch of other pairs.  It turns out that the neutral shoes seem to work better for me, and I ended up with these babies.  I swear I didn’t pick them because they’re loud and obnoxious.

shoes

Apparently, they’re Susan Komen (don’t get me started) pink, but they are lying.  Unless Susan Komen pink is actually a very orangey pink.  So far, I love them, but it’s maybe hard to tell after only 48 miles.

I need to add a big, fat “THANK YOU!” to my mom and dad for forking over money for my birthday – early – so that I could get new shoes.

Skirt:  And speaking of birthday money, I had some left over, so I decided on a new running skirt.  I actually deviated from my usual brand because I was interested in some fun patterns offered by Running Skirts.  I picked this pattern – being really pleased with myself for picking something a little out of my comfort zone:

[Want to insert an amusing leopard sound here, but can't figure out how to spell it.  I did learn, however, that they don't have the vocals to "roar" like bigger cats.]

I want to insert an amusing leopard sound here, but can’t figure out how to spell it. I did learn, however, that they don’t have the vocals to “roar” like bigger cats.

But right after I ordered it, I got an email that my size sold out.  Then I picked the argyle one I’d been eyeing initially.  I’m showing it here on me in this group photo, because this group run is one of my August highlights.

Kathy, Kim T., me, Jackie, Julie, Chrissy, Jen, and Letty (Photo credit: Letty)

Kathy, Kim T., me, Jackie, Julie, Chrissy, Jen, and Letty (Photo credit: Letty)

[Other] Highlights:  I usually add highlights after my stats, but this time it’s more appropriate here.

  • Probably the best one was the group run / group breakfast pictured above.  NOTE:  Julie and I ran five miles before meeting up with the other babes to run five more.  Which is why I look like a hot mess and they’re all fresh as daisies.  Anyway, it was super fun to get a group of us together.  Thanks go to Letty for organizing.
  • Long runs – Do I love to hate them or hate to love them?  Had my first runs over 8.5 since March – Woo-hoo!.  Julie and I ran 8, 9, 10 (10.45, actually), and 11 miles for the four weekends in August!  Remarkably, each one seemed easier than the last.  Well, until the last LONG run (of 11) before the half.  We fell apart a little bit after six miles (3 slow and 3 at race pace), but we got it done on not enough sleep (for either of us) and ridiculous humidity.  (I was gritty with sweat salt.  Ew!)
  • We are really looking forward to starting our taper on Monday!

August 2013 Stats:

Miles Run:  81.62
Time Running: 15:18:48
Average Pace: 11:19

Other Activities:  3 taekwondo classes and 1 “Ripped” video in my basement (that left me too sore to wash my back effectively in the shower for about three days!)

Races:  None (none were planned)

YTD Stats:

Miles Run:  370.18
Time Running: 67:53:29
Average Pace: 11:06

 

Leave a Reply

